Cletson Cox, Conductor

Cletson Cox received his Bachelor of Music Education degree in 1969 and his Master of Music degree in 1975 from Emporia State University, where he studied trumpet with Peter Ciurczak. Mr. Cox is a member of Kappa Kappa Psi Honorary Band Fraternity, Phi Mu Alpha Sinfornia Honorary Music Fraternity, Phi Beta Mu National School Bandmaster Fraternity, past member of Kansas Music Educators Association and Music Educators National Conference. Mr. Cox taught instrumental music in Madison, Newton and Wichita, Kansas, as well as in the Shawnee Mission school district. He has been conductor-clinician and adjudicator in Kansas. Mr. Cox is an active member of the Episcopal Church and is a past Master of the Masonic Lodge. He is retired from United Parcel Service after 26 years of service. Mr. Cox joined the band in 1983 and became the assistant conductor in 1984. He remained in that position for 26 years before moving to the position of Conductor in 2010.

Andrew Yates, Assistant Conductor

Andrew Yates holds a B.A. in music from Mid America Nazarene University. He has studied percussion and conducting at the UMKC Conservatory of Music. Mr. Yates has performed as a percussionist throughout the U.S. He has written music arrangements for Marilyn Maye, The Kansas City Symphony and famed trumpeter “Doc” Severinsen.  Mr.Yates has been active in Kansas City radio since 1987.  He is currently manager of public affairs for Bott Radio Network, and anchor/reporter for KMBZ Kansas City.

Leadership History

The Overland Park Civic Band was organized in 1938 as the Northeast Johnson County Community Band with Mr. John Francis as the first conductor. James P. Kelly followed Mr. Francis as conductor from 1953–1965. He was succeeded by Dr. David Circle from 1965–1968, and George Alter was director from 1968–1971. Frank Fendorf served as OPCB conductor from 1971–2009. After 26 years as assistant conductor, Cletson Cox assumed the position of conductor in 2010.

Elected Board

In addition to the conductor and assistant conductor positions, the band’s board of officers include six elected, volunteer positions from the band at large and assisted by a music librarian. Current leadership is as follows:

Tom Mahan, President
Aimee Viall, Vice President
Amy Schwartz, Secretary/Treasurer
Terry Moran, Woodwind Board Member
Lynn Garrison, Brass Board Member
Steve Samuelson, Board Member at Large
Susan Stricklin, Librarian

Bylaws & Amendments